Why should I create a version of a document?
When changes are made to an existing document you can decide whether the original document is overwritten or a new version is created. If you overwrite the existing document and then decide that the recent changes are not required it will be a lot harder to undo the changes, however if you create a version of the original document each time you make a change it will be easier to find the version you need.
How do I create versions of documents?
When a document that has already been saved to MatterSphere is opened and saved the following screen will be displayed.
The default selection is to overwrite the document but if you want to keep the current document you need to select one of the version options. It’s advisable to enter comments when saving a new version of a document to help identify the correct version. The Flag as Latest Version box will be automatically ticked, which means that when the document is saved this version will be the one displayed on the Documents tab.
New Major Version is used for major updates and would save the original document (version 1) as version 2.
New Revision is used for minor changes and would save the original docent (version 1) as version 1.1.
The Version column on the Documents tab will show the version number, only the latest document will be visible but all other versions are saved and can still be opened.
For more information or to organise some training, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org